Garden Wrap-Up

Summer is over and Fall is officially here. While not everything was a success over at my little community garden plot, the basil thrived.  Never mind that I didn’t even plant basil.  Hey, if it shows up in my 10 ft. sq. plot, it’s fair game. I thought I’d share a few pictures of my successes none the less.  Not too shabby for my first time gardening if I do say so… [Keep reading ‘below the fold’ for photos and a recipe for Spinach Basil Pesto.]

Who knew okra flowers were so beautiful? Sweet Potato OverloadThe Rogue Basil Plant

My much anticipated tomatillos My pretty purple eggplant flower just days before the entire plant was completely consumed by potato bugs.  Insidious Mongrels.

Considering I didn’t receive the plot until late June and my overall gardening skills are pretty much nil, I’ll chalk this first summer up as a success.  I may even get brave and try my hand at a little fall gardening.  In the meantime, if anyone has an ingenious method for getting rid of potato bugs naturally aside from flicking them, one at a time, to see which one flies the farthest, I’m all ears.

Tomorrow my family will be feasting on okra, but today it’s basil and what better way to make use of a large quantity of the delicious green leaves than to swirl them into a gorgeous bowl of fresh pesto.  I like to add a few cupfuls of spinach to mine as well just to up the healthy meter a bit higher.

Whipping up a batch is super simple as long as you grab a food processor and not a blender like I did.  I knew instantly after the first attempt at mixing that I went in the wrong direction but I was too darn stubborn to change it up at that point.  Future mental note made; food processor.

Add a pile of basil, a hearty cup of pine nuts, a couple cloves of garlic, and a few handfuls of spinach.  Grind them up good (in a food processor if you know what’s good for you).

Turn the processor back on and slowly pour in a cupful of olive oil until it’s completely incorporated.  Now dump in some grated parmesan.

Swirl it together, salt to your liking and you’re ready to cook up a pesto flavored feast.

Spinach Basil Pesto

Total Time: 15 min

Ingredients:

  • 3 Cups Basil, Packed
  • 3/4 Cup Pine Nuts
  • 2 Cups Spinach, Packed
  • 4 Cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 1 Cup Olive Oil
  • 2/3 Cup Parmesan Cheese
  • Salt to Taste

Directions:

Drop the basil, pine nuts, spinach and garlic into a food processor and mulch.

With the processor on, slowly pour the olive oil in until incorporated.

Mix in the Parmesan cheese.

Salt to taste.

3 Comments

Filed under Healthy Eating, Sustainable Food, The Foodie's Garden

3 responses to “Garden Wrap-Up

  1. You have a green thumb! Everything looks very healthy in your garden.

  2. Smedette

    Everything looks great!

  3. Don Boekelheide

    That’s great, Julie!!! Thanks for the inspiration and the recipes! This has been an excellent year for both sweet potatoes and okra, hasn’t it? You do have a green thumb for food gardening, and I wish you all the best in the coming seasons.

Leave a Reply

