Adventures in Chocolate Molding

Chocolate molding is hard.

There I’ve said it.  When I first decided to try my hand at the art, I figured I had it licked (no pun intended).  I watched a few videos, put out a few searches on the internet and checked into what Ina Garten had to say about the whole process.  I decided I would attempt to make a box out of chocolate that would be big enough to hold a few smaller molded confections.  I’d make chocolate covered strawberries for the small set and boozie chocolate covered cherries for the adults.  It was going to be a smashing success…

The project started out fairly well.  The chocolate covered fruit came together pretty quickly and turned out looking how I had hoped.  But then it was time to make the box and suddenly chocolate molding took on a whole new level of challenge.  I couldn’t understand why I was having such a difficult time.  I mean honestly, you temper some chocolate, drop it in your mold, swirl it around a few times, chill it, and pop it out.  Easy Peasy.  Until this happened.

Follow promptly by this.

Not be deterred, I kept trying.  I molded chocolate all afternoon.  I made colored roses and cute little plaques for the top of my box.  I suffered multiple failures and thankfully one semi-success.  There’s now chocolate splattered across my pantry doors, wiped across my favorite sweater and present in at least two of my children’s hair.  I’ve more than likely gained a pound or two from all the “mistakes” I made.  But when all was said and done, I did manage to create some semblance of a box and I have to admit that I’m fairly pleased by the result of the chocolates themselves.  Have I been humbled by the whole experience?  Absolutely.  Be in awe of chocolatiers.  Their job is one of absolute patience, dedication and love.  It truly is an art. And what about this chocolate challenged housewife?  Will she try her hand at it again?  More than likely yes.  I’m a glutton for punishment like that.  If I’m going to take on a challenge, it might as well be a tasty one, right?

Have you ever tried your hand at chocolate molding?

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Holidays

2 responses to “Adventures in Chocolate Molding

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Adventures in Chocolate Molding // WFAEats -- Topsy.com

  2. Lovely! I have not tried chocolate molding! Looks difficult, you did a great job!

Leave a Reply

